This is a notebook of photos and words. Some poetry, some fiction, some real life.

Chairs and sunset

I just returned from Barrie, Ontario where I served as publisher in residence at Georgian College. I met with many talented writers. Some shared stories about working as social workers. Some wrote about wrestling. Others wrote historical accounts. One person told me a story about their mother who made life miserable for her. While I was there, I spoke to a class of Bruce Meyer’s then sat back and listened with delight to his tales about the Romantic poets, especially Keats. Amazing discoveries in the space of an hour. Bruce brings to life that era for his students. I sat entirely wrapped up in his stories.

While I was there, I reacquainted myself with Fran’s, a restaurant that I used to go to in Toronto. My early career as a writer centred around this place at St. Clair. Coffee and a piece of apple pie. And writing poetry. It was there, too, that I read all of Dylan Thomas. In Barrie, I photographed the chairs at Fran’s. On the way back to Windsor, I drove into the sunset. This is what I captured.

3 responses

  1. Vanessa Shields

    I love Fran’s. Try to get there when I’m in Toronto. Every city needs a diner and isn’t complete until it has one – a good, greasy one.
    Glad you had an inspiring weekend away. Feels good, eh?

    November 28, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    • martygervais

      Yup, it was busy though. Worn out.

      November 29, 2011 at 12:04 am

  2. Bruce Meyer

    I was there. The chairs look other worldly.

    December 2, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Leave a Reply

